Students Receive Young Talent and State Superintendent Art Awards and New Artwork

Junior Eryon Olvera and Senior Abby Wright received recognition for their work that was accepted into the 2019 Young Talent in Oklahoma Competition. Olvera received one of three Juror’s Choice Awards for her sculpture, Movement of the Spiral. Wright received one of 10 Merit Awards for her painting, Maine Man Memories. Nearly 800 works were submitted to the General entries competition, with only 164 works selected to hang in the show. Yukon High School had 10 artworks selected with pieces by Juan Ibarra, Landon Roach, Meghan Weeks, Amanda Davis, Claire Cauthan, Kylie Mass, and Alyssa Hull also exhibited.

Abby Wright stands next to her Merit Award painting, Maine Man Memories.

Abby Wright also was selected to receive the 2019 State Superintendent Award for Arts Excellence. This prestigious award will be presented on on April 23, 2019 at the Scottish Rite Temple in Guthrie, Oklahoma.

Students in Art I completed a study of painted geometric forms and the 1st hour Art II class completed a study of negative space. Examples from each project can be found by clicking the preceding hyperlinks.

Two Students Selected for the Prestigious Oklahoma Arts Institute and New Art II Sculptures

Congratulations to Claire Cauthan and Olivia Walker who were selected to attend the 2019 Oklahoma Arts Institute at Quartz Mountain. These students will engage in an intensive two-week workshop with John Hitchcock who is a Professor of Art and Associate Dean of Arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Each year several hundred students from across Oklahoma apply to the Oklahoma Arts Institute, but only 20 students are accepted into the drawing program. This marks the sixth straight year students from YHS have been selected as a participant or alternate to attend OSAI.

Prior to spring break, the 1st hour Art II class completed their study of Minimalism through the creation of a wood sculpture. Click here for more information and to see examples from this project. 

Young Talent in Oklahoma Selections and Album Artwork from Art II

Congratulations to the following students who had work selected to hang in the annual Young Talent in Oklahoma Competition:

Meghan Weeks (one work selected)
Kylie Mass (two works selected)
Abby Wright (two works selected)
Amanda Davis (one work selected)
Claire Cauthan (one work selected)
Eryon Olvera (one work selected)
Alyssa Hull (one work selected)
Juan Ibarra (one work selected)
Landon Roach (one work selected)

The Young Talent in Oklahoma exhibition will hang March 25 to April 6 at the Garvey Center on the Oklahoma Christian University campus in Edmond, Oklahoma. Admission is free.

The Art II class recently completed their Album Project where they had to collaborate with a client to produce artwork for an album cover. These images can be seen here.

Charcoal Drawings from the Art II class

The 1st hour Art II class recently completed a study of charcoal by drawing their own hands (or the hands of classmates) in various poses. The students worked on 18″ x 24″ paper to produce large scale, photo-realistic renderings, which take on the appearance of black and white photographs. To see examples of this project, please visit the project website.

Students receive Recognition from Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

The 2019 Region-at-Large Scholastic Art and Writing Awards have been announced and Mrs. Adams’ and Mr. Payne’s Yukon High School art students captured multiple awards, including two individual Gold Key awards, six Silver Key Awards, and six Honorable Mentions. The two students who received an individual Gold Key award will have their work submitted to nationals to compete where they have the opportunity to earn a Silver or Gold medal at the national-level. Below are images of the Gold Key winners’ artwork along with names of students who received award:

Sophia Bowie (Gold Key Award)
Amanda Davis (Silver Key Award and Gold Key Award)
Rachel Minick (Honorable Mention)
Eryon Olvera (Honorable Mention and Silver Key Award x 2)
Aaliyah Poindexter (Honorable Mention)
Olivia Walker (Silver Key Award)
Abby Wright (Honorable Mention)
Forrest Mendenhall (Silver Key Award)
Paige Nguyen (Honorable Mention and Silver Key Award)
Logan Smith (Honorable Mention)